

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

2020-BD28-DOC-005-b

# MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE NEW DEVELOPMENT BANK WORKSHOP ON MEMBERSHIP EXPANSION (VIDEOCONFERENCE) HELD ON JULY 31, 2020 AT 19:00 (SHANGHAI TIME)

#### PRESENT:

#### **Board Members**

- i. Mr. Sergei Storchak (Director for Russia, Co-Chairperson)
- ii. Mr. K. Rajaraman (Director for India)
- iii. Mr. Prasanna V. Salian (Temporary Alternate Director for India)
- iv. Mr. Zhongjing Wang (Director for China)
- v. Mr. Weihua Liu (Alternate Director for China)
- vi. Mr. Enoch Godongwana (Director for South Africa)
- vii. Mr. Mfundo Hlatswayo (Temporary Alternate Director for South Africa)
- viii. Ms. Yana Dumaresq (Director for Brazil)
- ix. Mr. Erivaldo Gomes (Alternate Director for Brazil)
- x. Mr. Marcos Troyjo (NDB President and Board Member, Co-Chairperson)

#### **Advisors and Other Participants Accompanying Directors**

- i. Mr. Marco Aurélio dos Santos Araújo, General Coordinator for Global Development Institutions, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- ii. Ms. Raquel Porto Ribeiro Mendes, Coordinator for Relationship with Global Development Institutions, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- iii. Ms. Lívia Batista Maciel Braga, Infrastructure Analyst, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- iv. Mr. Bruno Caetano Cassiano, Technical Advisor, Office of the Director, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- v. Mr. Helder Paulo Machado Silva, Technical Advisor, Office of the Director, Ministry of Economy, Brazil
- vi. Ms. Elena Zamorina, Consultant, Department for International Financial Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Russia
- vii. Mr. Kaviarasan K, Deputy Director, Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance, India

- viii. Mr. Jiangnan Qian, Director, Division IFI IV, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance, China
- ix. Ms. Hongna Li, Deputy Director, Division IFI IV, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance, China
- x. Mr. Yazhou Yan, Staff Member, Division IFI IV, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance, China
- xi. Mr. Lesego Ntoahae, Economist, BRICS Global and Emerging Market, International and Regional Economic Policy, National Treasury, South Africa
- xii. Ms. Didintle Letsie, Economist, BRICS Global and Emerging Market, International and Regional Economic Policy, National Treasury, South Africa

### **Vice Presidents**

- Mr. Vladimir Kazbekov, Vice-President and Chief Administrative Officer ("CAO")
- ii. Mr. Anil Kishora, Vice-President and Chief Risk Officer ("CRO")
- iii. Mr. Xian Zhu, Vice-President and Chief Operations Officer ("COO")
- iv. Mr. Leslie Maasdorp, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer ("CFO")

## **New Development Bank Staff**

- i. Ms. Yolande Dwarika, Director General and Corporate Secretary
- ii. Mr. Weijie Liu, Principal Professional, Corporate Secretary
- iii. Ms. Miya Liu, Junior Professional, Corporate Secretary
- iv. Ms. Helen Shen, Officer, Corporate Secretary

The following staff members attended the workshop with the approval of the President:

- i. Mr. Hanyong Liu, Chief, Front Office of the President
- ii. Mr. Fabio Batista, Chief, Strategy and Partnerships
- iii. Mr. Evgeny Kochkin, Executive Assistance to the CAO
- iv. Mr. Saurabh Ghugre, Executive Assistance to the CFO
- v. Mr. Couto Silva, seconded to Front Office of the President
- vi. Mr. Qingwei Meng, Professional, Strategy and Partnerships
- vii. Mr. Craig Lai-King, Executive Assistance to the CFO
- viii. Mr. Julien Demeulemeester, seconded to Front Office of the President

# 1. Opening Remarks

The President of the New Development Bank and the Chairperson of the Board of Directors welcomed all Board members to the workshop.

## 2. Discussion on Membership Expansion

The Board took note of the progress of membership expansion and provided guidance on the next steps.

# 3. Summary and Closing Remarks

The meeting ended with thanks from the President of the New Development Bank and the Chairperson of the Board of Directors.